top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChloe Chow

entry 1: welcome to chloe's commonplace!

Hey friends!! Welcome to Chloe’s Commonplace!


I am so so happy to be introducing this first entry of my podcast to you! I am very excited to have you here with me today. For those who don’t know me, Hello!! I’m Chloe Chow. It is so nice to meet you. A one sentence summary about me, I am currently a student at Biola University studying to be a speech pathologist, I’m a follower of Christ, & in my free time you will probably find me watching Youtube videos, crocheting, baking, scrapbooking, playing solitaire, or discovering more hobbies. I hope you will get to know me more as you listen to these podcast episodes go on.


So about what is going on hereee. Recently I have been feeling a huge pressing on my heart that I have something I want to share with others. I wasn’t sure how, in what way, or about what, but in the middle of December, I woke up at like 4 AM with the realization of how I was going to do this. Through a podcast! So here I am and here you are. I am treating this space like a weekly, spoken journal entry of what's been going on in my mind, in my life, or on topics I want to share about. I really love documenting things, like through pictures and writing, and this is a new medium where I can capture moments and experiences to share with others. I really love listening to other people’s stories, experiences, cultures, and I hope you do too.


I thought in this trailer episode I would also share with you all the background for the podcast name, Chloe’s Commonplace, I was looking through fun words that emanated the vibe and I guess the niche I was trying to pinpoint, and I came across what is known as the commonplace book. According to my great and not too extensive research on Google, these books were essentially scrapbooks by writers filled with items of every kind: recipes, quotes, letters, poems, proverbs, prayers, and more. Each one is unique to its creator's particular interests but they almost always include passages found in other texts.


This idea of a hodgepodge of different items combined to a place together matched well with what I want this podcast to be like. I know I have many many things that influence my life, and I will be referencing them throughout these episodes. Whether that be the Bible, books I’ve been reading, videos I’ve watched, social media, or friends and family.


Every Monday I will be here, opening up to you, and I am feeling happy and nervous butterflies. A leettle bit nervous but more excited and so ready to connect with you in a new way!


I so want to be your friend, yes you, whoever is listening (or reading!), and I hope these weekly episodes will bring you interesting insights, perspectives, and you will get to know me a little deeper & better, and see the light of the Lord through me.


If you want to ever talk more or want to connect, meet me over on my instagram page, @chloescommonplace. Also, if you would love to support my new endeavor and help it reach out to more people, follow me on Spotify, Anchor, or wherever you listen to your podcasts! & leave a fun review :D


I am so grateful for you!! Talk to you again soon!

1 view
bottom of page